top of page

Photoperiodic flowering & circadian rhythms in Arabidopsis: Master in Biosystem Studies 2004-200


I worked on photoperiodic flowering (GI-CO-FT pathway) and circadian rhythms (CCA1 & LHY genes) in Arabidopsis thaliana during my Master's thesis in Biosystem Studies (2004-2006) at the University of Tsukuba, Japan.

Research projects involved correlating the mRNA expression levels of floral activator FT (Flowering locus T)with flowering time across multiple accessions; characterization of dominant mutants with long hypocotyl and accelerated flowering time under short day (SD) conditions.

Research activities took place while at the same time taking coursework to obtain the required credits for a Master's degree. Classses were taught in Japanese and I was allowed to turn in homework written in English. The pace of classes and homeworks was very intense, taking my entire first year of the program (2004). During the second year (2005) I concentrated on lab work for most of the time with graduation taking place in March 2006.

Previous to enrolling in the Master Programm, and during 2003 I was a research assitant at Gene Research Center, University of Tsukuba while I took intensive Japanese classes from 9am to 3pm during a 6 months period and adapted to Japanese culture.

It was a remarkable experience that would trascend academic purpose. I highly developed aesthetic sensibility so characteristic of the Japanese architecture, design, flower arrangement, and presentation of food. I dramatically reduced sugar intake as Japanese people drink green tea without any sugar (a habit that stayed with me) and I biked a lot from my apartment to school.

My graduate studies were possible thanks to a Monbukagakusho Fellowship.

Link to Publiscations:

Plant Signaling & Behavior (2011):

Plant Biotechnology (2007):

Plant Biotechnology (2005):


bottom of page